Cold Storage was implemented on July 4, 2011. If a user doesn't log into an account within six months to two years, their account will be placed into Cold Storage, a form of lockdown. When the user logs back into the account once again, they will get a message stating that if they are logging back in from the same state or country, the account will be returned to normal though with a new User ID. Otherwise, the user will also need to fill out a feedback ticket to have the account unlocked. Generally, this causes the user's username to revert to their universal name.
When the "feature" was first introduced, affected accounts lost LUE access; however, shortly after this SBAllen adjusted it so that access to LUE, available for the original account, would be restored upon automatic reactivation or filling out the feedback form.